Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The Olympic Games and other equivalent worldwide events have long played a crucial role in bringing people worldwide together. There is a general concern in the public that such large-scale events are not worth the amount of investment allocated and that money could be spent more wisely. However, I believe these initiatives fully cover the amount of money spent and bring some benefits that cannot be achieved in other ways. It is no doubt that massive international events like the Olympic Games require large amounts of investment. For example, a host country needs to improve road quality, construct new sports facilities, decorate the city, etc. To allocate financial resources for all these initiatives, a government must spend a considerable budget. However, it should be noted that countries also earn a great deal of money from large-scale events. Tourists from all over the world effectively contribute to a host country's economy by purchasing tickets, visiting local shops and sightseeing, staying in hotels and etc. As a result, during the Olympic Games, for example, countries receive over 100% return on their investment. Another point to consider is that international events help to form and maintain good international relationships. While they are effectively a good way to unite diverse nations, they also bring government authorities together. It is an excellent opportunity for country leaders, politicians and ambassadors to communicate, discuss military and economic relationships between their countries and occasionally make some arrangements. To conclude, hosting significant international events such as the Olympic Games mean a substantial financial burden for countries. However, these events are also an excellent way to improve the economy and form close international relationships.