Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Some people argue that television advertising is harmful to young children and should not be directed towards them. However, some people support that television commercials do not affect young children and there should be no limitations. As far as I am concerned, I believe screen advertisements should be discouraged because they have a negative impact on youngsters. I feel this for a number of reasons, which I am going to illustrate in the following essay. First of all, ads encourage children to buy unnecessary things. If youngsters see toys or snacks on the screen, they want them immediately. Adverting companies know how to impact children by using kids’ favourite cartoon characters and replicas. My niece's story is a compelling example of this. When my niece was three years old, she insisted her family buy everything, that she saw on the TV set. Her parents were happy to buy at the beginning, but later they realized that she wanted unnecessary goods. Although she even did not play with her toys, she urged her parents to buy new other dolls which advertised on the screen. Moreover, it happened frequently that my brother sent her to the village where her grandparents lived. Her grandparents did not allow her to watch TV until kindergarten opened. Had not my brother limited television to my niece, she would still crave unnecessary things. Secondly, TV adverts affect kids’ behaviours adversely. Toddlers do not have proper traits, so they mostly imitate what they see in their favourite cartoons or adverts, and they answer people the same way. For example, my nephew was four years old and his favourite cartoon was "Masha and the Bear". He watched it all day long and began behaving like Masha. In the beginning, it was really exciting to see how my nephew acted like a cartoon character. All of a sudden, he started annoying his parents and he did think that was wrong. When his family understood this situation, they limited the cartoons and ads to my nephew. To conclude, television advertisements have a negative effect on the younger generation. This is because TV ads encourage toddlers to buy unnecessary goods and they affect children ’s behaviour in a wrong way.