Nowadays many young people are not interested in reading the newspapers and watching new on television. Give reasons for this and proffer solution to this problem.

Youngsters these days spend the majority of their time on social media and lack interest in reading newspapers and watching the news on television. This essay will be discussing the main reason for this issue, social media addiction and lack of interest and also provide solutions for this problem. Young people's life is revolving around online media. They spend time using social platforms like Facebook, WhatsApp, Google, Instagram and Twitter and because of this young people tend to read news on Google or online news platforms. For instance, BBC News can be accessed free through online platforms, and so youngsters access instant news through these platforms and engage in online discussions on social group platforms like Facebook. As a,result young minds don't reach out to access newspapers. In addition, newspaper lacks content which can capture the attention of youth, most of the news is presented in fashion for the adult population. Newspapers have to bring in information which can attract youngsters. For this, they have to introduce content like movies, sports, international games and fashion. Also, they have to allocate Sunday supplements and magazines which focus on topics influencing the current generation. Schools have to introduce homework and assignment which would prompt children to read the newspaper and watch the news. For example, while I was a student, our school introduced an assignment, where we had to read a summary of a news article daily and discuss our views on it. This helped me develop a routine of reading newspapers and building interest in myself. To sum up, social media and online platforms have negatively impacted young people not accessing newspapers and news on television. Schools have to focus on building these interests in young minds and news companies should develop content attracting them.