In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, most people around the globe own a mobile phone, and they normally bring it along everywhere they go. They have been increasingly depending on mobile payment apps for their everyday spending. This development is definitely a positive trend as it offers more convenience, accessibility, and better management in personal finance. The significant advantage of payment apps is everyone with a mobile can use and pay at their fingertips without the need to carry loads of physical cash and cards. Subsequently, this can prevent them from getting stolen and losing cash and cards. Additionally, international purchases and peer-to-peer (P2P) transfers regardless of different geographical presence aren’t possible without mobile payment technology. For example, a person residing in Singapore can buy goods on Taobao from China using famous mobile wallets like Alipay and WeChat. Finally, lots of mobile apps have an inbuilt analytic system which allows users to track and plan their spending. However, some users have valid concerns over personal data leaks and cyber-attacks while using mobile apps. Those concerns have been handled by lots of payment companies by making significant investments and efforts in security infrastructures to make sure data are well maintained and prevent any cyber-attacks. This can be seen as mobile payment apps using 2-factor authentications, sending push notifications not to share log-in details with others. In conclusion, using mobile payments can help people in many countries gain plenty of benefits in terms of accessibility, convenience, and personal wealth management. Therefore, I strongly believe this development trend has more advantages than disadvantages.