People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In the current,generation it is noticed that people spend lesser time with families and this has affected many relationships. This essay will be explaining how social media and busy lifestyles have led to this issue and how this impacts families and bonds.  The fast-paced lifestyle of the current community gives no space for people to allocate time for their family and friends. They spent a major part of their time on work and achieving their career goals. For example, parents don't have time to spend with their younger ones, so they bring work home due to pressure from the workplace and target achievement. Furthermore, people invest the rest of their free time on social media, instead of making conversation with other people living under the same roof. To exemplify, a family goes out for dinner together, but they prefer replying to their WhatsApp messages and posting photos on social profiles rather than engaging with each other. The aforementioned issues are leading to serious mental health issues. Many feel depressed and isolated even while surrounded by people, they feel lonely and not cared for. For example, the percentage of children seeking counselling support has increased recently, they feel their parents don't care for them and are not loved by others, leading to depression and attachment issues. In addition, lesser time with family also impacts the relationship values installed in the young population. They tend to care less for family and their parents, which destroys traditional morals and values. To sum up, busy life schedules and addiction to social media have impacted family relationships negatively. This has led to many mental health issues and devalued family relationships in the current generation.