Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

Developed countries allow unemployed individuals to receive grants. Many policymakers argue that such favours from the government should be returned with community service. I completely agree with the statement and will elaborate further in subsequent paragraphs. The benefits funded by taxpayers help job seekers to live a comfortable lifestyle although they lack an income source. Data from recent surveys show that the funding for such benefits is larger than the allocation for education. The trend is expected to grow with more economic downturns expected in future. There are many public projects that lack funding to hire highly skilled workers. As a receiver of grants, it would be humane that individuals return the favour by helping such programs. This will ease the strain on the availability of funds at the same time help the projects run in the long term. The participants will have the opportunity to network and associate with individuals in the same industry. They could go on to become mentors providing guidance. I have been fortunate to meet people in past who have been long-term mentors and pivotal in landing new jobs. Further, volunteering helps in building new skills which would place them in an advantageous position to land new jobs. Also, the short-term project would help build confidence in future employers in the adaptability and learnability of the person. In conclusion, I see that volunteering has two distinctive purposes. On one hand, it eases the strain on public projects while at the same time providing valuable connections and skill sets to participants. I sincerely urge everyone to involve in such programs and help our society.