Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there have been conflicting views regarding whether taxation is the only responsibility that citizens should take in order to contribute to their country. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and then explain why I believe there are more things people should do. To start with, those who think paying taxes is good enough to their nation may put forth the following statements. Firstly, the taxation collected from the individuals makes the countries rich, particularly for those struggling with development. To illustrate, supplied with sufficient treasure from the tax payers, the councils are able to allocate many budgets involved in every aspect of the construction of the country, facilitating peoples’ life. Secondly, in view of the fact that paying tax has already been a heavy burden to each family, it is not reasonable to require persons to make further efforts. In other words, if the individuals are perceived to sacrifice more interests, they are more likely to develop a sense of resentment towards the government, impairing the social cohesion. Meanwhile, the opponents may have their own ideas based on the fact that the contribution to their state consists of several elements apart from property. One dominant point is that there is a wide range of problems that cannot be solved by financial support alone, such as the current environmental issue. Specifically, it is more imperative to equip the factories with updated technologies in order to emit less pollutants into atmosphere, instead of just imposing heavier taxes on them. In addition, the juveniles’ crime is another adversity the society is faced with, which can not be simply addressed by economic approaches; instead, the parents and teachers should be responsible for disciplining the youngsters’ behaviors and reducing the delinquencies by educational measures. In conclusion, although residents are obliged to pay taxes, they are still encouraged to make other contributions to the nation, because money is not able to tackle all concerns.