Some people think that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together.

It is a matter of intense debate whether children should be segregated according to their academic abilities. Some people feel that there should be separate teaching for intelligence and weak students. Meanwhile, others believe that teaching children together would be better. This essay intends to analyze both views. I, however, side with the former view. On the one hand, It is reasonable that mixed-ability classes bring numerous positive influences on entire students ’ development. To begin with, Children having different abilities could be educated together to overcome their weaknesses. For example, those who are masters in Math, have to struggle with literature subjects and can enhance their writing skill lying on the help from their classmates. As a result, They could grow up to become more well-rounded individuals. Besides, Teamwork skills may be improved through the cooperation between students frequently. However, It has been seen that sometimes intelligent students who grasp lessons quickly, show disruptive behavior by paying less attention in the class. On the other hand, I do believe that grouping students according to their academic abilities is more beneficial for both teachers and students. There is no doubt that teachers can easily apply teaching tactics for each group to give students the maximum benefits. Furthermore, intelligent and weak students can be taught at their pace and their session to create more interest for them. Therefore, this practice not only helps students to study effectively and efficiently but it also makes teaching easier for teachers. In short, although there are merits of both approaches to teaching students of different abilities. Meanwhile, mixed-ability classes are advantages for all round development. I still support the option that schools should separate students based on their academic abilities for the scale of both teachers and students.