Many people believe that educational standards have decliend in recent times, particularly int he areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

One might have expected that in the modern era, educational standard would be at its absolute best. However, the reality is quite the opposite of this. This issue is specifically observed in the fields of literature and mathematics. In this essay, we will discuss the reasons of the decline and provide some solutions to overcome it. The primary reason for deterioration in the standard of education in the areas of literacy and numeracy is being exam focused. The curriculum is devised to score perfect numbers in exams rather that focusing on learning and skill development in the pupils. This strategy, will eventually give best outcomes in terms of test grades, but will fail to nourish creativity of the students. For instance, students are provided essay topics for preparation prior to the exam. They have the option to search for relevant essays online and memorize them. This will ensure good result in the exam, but would be pernicious for their creative abilities. To deal with this issue, the educational institutions should devise the course structure in a way that boosts the creative and learning side of the children. The tests taken should focus on analyzing the pupil's concepts instead of their memory. For example, the students should be trained on the basics of maths problem solving instead of giving them pre-solved questions. This will enable them to grasp the entire concept effectively, which may come in handy in their future, thus improving the standard of education. To recapitulate, it is evident from the examples provided that the standard of education is going down the hill, but with careful and planned measures, it can be brought back on track.