More and more business meetings and business training are taking place on the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, using online business meetings and business training is more and more popular in our life. It seems to be a good way to connect with our colleagues, and counterparts besides offline face-to-face meetings. This development has both upsides and downsides which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, there are several benefits associated with online meetings. The most striking one is that it helps to save time and money. The primary reason is that travelling for meetings might take a huge amount of time and money which can be used effectively for other tasks. For example, one person living in Vietnam has to spend nearly 2 days on a round-trip flight to take part in a meeting in America. Meanwhile, he/she has to pay money for accommodation, food, transportation, etc. Another significant upside that should be mentioned is that it is very convenient. People can join the meeting anytime anywhere as long as having the internet. This method is helpful for special circumstances such as in Covid 19 pandemic period to ensure the business of all companies. On the other hand, the aforementioned phenomenon has a few drawbacks. It is undeniable that the quality of the meeting might depend on the quality of the internet. In some rural areas, people face difficult situations when using the internet because of the underdevelopment of infrastructure or internet cable sometimes being broken. As a consequence, the meetings can be interrupted without any result. Furthermore, it is difficult to get the agreement of all people in some crucial meetings. In conclusion, online meetings bring about certain merits including saving time and money, and convenience as well as demerits namely the meeting quality and difficulty to get agreement. Therefore, depending on the importance and circumstances of each company, people can use suitable methods.