Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The importance of people ’s well-being is undeniable. In the past, people used to visit the doctor to cure their health issues. However, these days, a vast majority of people have shifted to modern medicines and treatments. I think, despite all the benefits of this switch, the drawbacks of using alternative medicine outweigh the benefits. More and more people throughout the world are interested in substituting conventional medicine with other remedies such as herbal therapies. They argue that not only do these replacements cost them significantly less than visiting the doctor, but also they are much faster and easier to follow. For example, when applying for an appointment with GP, elderly people must wait several weeks and even months which is incidentally too expensive. Therefore, they would prefer to receive alternative medicines instead of visiting the doctor. In sharp contrast, there is a 90% probability that these cures will not answer the issues and there is tangible evidence to prove it. First and foremost, some scientists have raised criticisms of alternative medicine. In other words, the majority of those therapies are not proven by scientists and are purely based on the therapist’s experience. Thus, this way of recovery put people ’s lives in jeopardy and might confront death. Another reason to take into consideration is that these alternatives serve no value because some of them are fake or the results are at least barely visible. For example, a group of people claimed that some alternatives such as acupuncture or massage are somewhat effective. In the beginning, they relive from pain and feel relaxed; however, after a few days the pain returns without any recovery. It is obviously a waste of time and money for the majority. To sum up, an increasing number of people are inclined to alternative medicines instead of visiting the doctor for the sake of their convenience and cheapness. However, some scientists believe otherwise and I tend to think that taking alternative medicines cannot be as efficient as what doctors prescribe for us.