‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss.

In the current world, people are often moving across countries for better opportunities and living standards. While we choose to live in a foreign land it is important to learn its history and culture. This essay will outline two reasons for the importance of learning such history and culture. The first reason is to create a social network in the foreign country that we live in. When we move across countries for education and migration purposes, it is important to have a healthy friends network. This primarily helps in our survival in the new environment. For example, statistics show that students who express knowledge of the history and culture of the country they choose to study, have a higher chance of making friends and navigating through their university life. On the other hand, to understand the work cultures and gestures carried out in a specific country. It is important for a person who comes abroad for work-related purposes. Different countries have different working cultures, hence it is essential to have sound knowledge of how to behave under given circumstances, such as deadlines, meetings and official events. For example, in a South Asian country like India working exhausting hours is considered highly effective. However, in a European country like Germany effectiveness is measured through techniques and outcomes. Hence, for an Indian moving to Germany for work, it is best to learn history and culture to maintain a good working environment. Overall, in my,opinion a person having a knowledge of history and cultural diversity benefits from a healthy living environment. Subsequently, it benefits the home-born people and society as well.