In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

All over the world people who own homes are becoming more and more interested in the past of the buildings or apartments they live in. This interest was only recently created due to the growing number of locals who are becoming interested in researching the past of their neighbourhood. This essay will first go through the reasons why this phenomenon occurs and offering some ideas for how to do the necessary research. One of the main reasons why people started to do a research based on the history of the place where they live, is to know more about the past of this specific area. This is because if the person will know more about the community, he lives in he or she would feel safer. Another strong argument is just curiosity of the people and their own interests. For instance, person who just moved to a new apartment would like to know if their buildings are well constructed or not when they were built. To know about the past of a building or an apartment, asking the neighbours who live nearby, would be a great idea method. These local residents are witnesses themselves who then become storytellers. Also, such an old information could be kept in the local library, where old archives like the ones people would need are kept. In conclusion, I would like to say that nowadays there are a lot of methods which can help people to find out more information about the house they are going to live in. Moreover, it seems to me that people are motivated to learn about the history of their homes because of their own safety and feeling of satisfication.