Write about the following topic: Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measure do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, traffic has become a predominant issue along with pollution, many believe petrol prices should be risen to solve the issue. This essay will discuss the measures that could be taken to counteract the growing problem as well as my opinion on the matter.  One of the ways to resolve pollution and traffic is to add more public transport. If more people were to take a bus or a train, for example, it would lead to fewer cars being on the roads resulting in less traffic. In addition, pollution would also be reduced. Furthermore, money would be saved as bus and train tickets are far cheaper.  Another solution that helps with the matter is to incorporate more things that are eco-friendly such as traffic-free zones as well as zero-carbon forms of transportation. An example of the latter is trams, as they run solely on electricity. This type of transportation would contribute to a massive drop in noise and air pollution. In regards to traffic-free zones, while it benefits society for the same reasons mentioned above it can also improve the quality of life as it encourages more people to walk and cycle. Apart from these 2 options, there is also the choice of adding congestion charges to deter the use of cars that pollute the air. To conclude, in my opinion, I agree with the belief of increasing petrol prices, as it will cause huge amounts of people to turn to tax-funded types of transportation as a solution which in turn helps out the environment greatly.