Some people argue higher taxes should be collected from industries causing higher industrial pollution, whereas others argue there are better ways to deal it. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Industrialization has ushered the quality of living standards and increased employment. While some argue that due to the pollution they have caused, higher taxes should be imposed on them. In contrast, others believe there are better ways in dealing with them. In this essay, both scenarios are discussed. Firstly, imposing taxes on industries will put a burden on them, which they will transfer to consumers in the form of higher prices. Or, on the other,hand they will shift to other places causing a loss to the economy. For instance, many industries in Pakistan have shifted to Srilanka and Bangladesh due to higher taxes, resulting in lower GDP and increased unemployment. Secondly, the companies will start to assume that they can pollute for as long as they are ready to pay the tax. This perception will lead them not to invest in green technology for sustainable environmental growth. Eventually, the pollution levels will continue to foster in the coming years. However, on the contrary, the other argument holds much weight in finding better solutions to deal with them. "Cooperate Social Responsibility", a term which has been introduced for many decades needs to be implemented more strongly. CSR allows a company to give back to the environment by introducing methods which less hazardous and environment friendly. For example, Nestle has banned 30 per cent use of plastic in their bottle and they plan to achieve 50 per cent by 2025. Secondly, there are many laws available in countries which protect nature by keeping a check and balance of waste disposal methods and using green technology. But this is rarely implemented in developing countries due to corruption practices. To conclude, imposing higher taxes on industries that cause higher pollution is unlikely to solve the problem. Worse, this will ignite the situation. A better solution is to promote green technology and offer tax concessions to those who reduce their pollution.