Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time, especially with complicated calculations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Using electronic calculators in school is very common now as it’ll help students to solve calculations faster so they don’t have to waste time on arithmetic calculations. Although using a calculator is much easier and faster, there are still some voices that students shouldn’t be using electronic calculators before they mastered mental arithmetic. This essay will examine both views. People believe that using calculators can save students time on complicated calculations. There’s only simple arithmetic will be used in real life such as calculating the prices when making purchases. So, what’s the point for students to master difficult formulas? Even though students might want to work in the engineering industry in the future, most of the complicated calculations will be done by calculation software also. Furthermore, most occupation doesn’t require applicants to be able to do mental arithmetic as electronic calculators will be more accurate than calculating manually. In contrast, some people believe that students shouldn’t be using electronic calculators in school before they mastered mental arithmetic. Some educationalists think that mastering arithmetic calculations is the most crucial part of building the foundation for learning mathematics. Calculating manually will help with brain development, and also help students think faster and predict well. It’s not only for students to score higher in exams, and will also be needed in their daily life. For example, when they are organising a campaign, they’ll be able to figure out the estimated time and budget faster. Admittedly, students could save a lot time on doing calculations by using electronic calculators. But doing calculations manually will prevent students from being lazy to calculate and dally on solving problems. The advantages of mastering arithmetic will be much more than saving time. Therefore, I agree that students should master mental arithmetic before they start using electronic calculators.