Some people think that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others think that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. From my point of view, separation in students ’ academic performance is a need due to its benefits that will be explained below. On the one hand, those who support teaching students according to their academic abilities argue that this approach can help students study at their actual levels and therefore have more chances to advance their academic ability. They believe that students who are chosen for the class can better understand the material suitable for their levels and are more likely to succeed academically. Also, studying with those having the same levels will generate a competitive learning environment in which every individual tries their best and moves forward together. In Vietnam, for instance, students in high school for the gifted are always well-known for not only the intelligence of each person but also the well- roundedness of the whole class. On the other hand, those who advocate for having students with different abilities study together argue that this approach can help promote diversity and inclusivity in schools. They believe that students can learn from each other and develop important social skills by working with peers who have different backgrounds and abilities. For example, a student who excels in math may be able to help a student who struggles with math by explaining concepts in a way that is easier for them to understand. This, as a result, can both enhance students ’ relational bond and their academic ability. In my opinion, both approaches have their merits. While it is important for students to receive individualized attention and support when necessary, it is also important for them to learn how to work with others who have different strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, I believe that schools should strive to strike a balance between these two approaches by providing opportunities for both individualized instruction and collaborative learning.