Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating and people use more and more of social media in communicate and to follow news and events. Some people think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion with example.

At present, with everybody's lifestyles being busier than ever, the amount of people relying on social media for conversing and gaining knowledge is immense. There is an ongoing debate regarding the merits and demerits of this concern and in my opinion the merits outweigh the demerits. On the one hand, these community media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Youtube are comparatively less expensive and within seconds users are able to chat, call and video conference. Money spent will only be on Internet and electricity, which is much cheaper compared to printed media like mail. In the contemporary age, these methods are providing an immense service as it allows users to interact with the whole world while they are at home. Moreover, unlike traditional channels like television, and radio, community websites can be accessed at any time of the day. For instance, with a matter of a few keywords and hashtags and a several clicks, the users are able to check what is currently trending even at midnight, without waiting in front of the TV for 10pm news. On the other hand, despite the benefits mentioned there are certain negative consequences. Firstly, there is no guarantee that the news and events broadcasted are accurate. Marketers use different strategies to mislead the public such as click baits, and unless used diligently, it could be hazardous. For instance, during Muslim - Sinhala fights in Sri Lanka, the government had to ban certain community sites as they mislead the audience with fake news and rile up their emotions in a negative way. Additionally, their popularity has resulted in the shutting down of several conventional services such as post offices and communication centres resulting in loss of employment for many. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of using social platforms for conversing as well to explore news are much greater than their drawbacks.