Some people say that schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of globalization and technologization the Internet has become an inseparable part of our lives, and even more so in child’s education. Some people argue that schools may be substituted by online homeschooling. I disagree to some extent that it’s impossible. In this essay, I will try to explain my position with sufficient arguments and examples. First of all, not all school students are ready for homeschooling. Children must receive an approach and mentoring to avoid a lack of motivation and discipline. Researchers from Bristol University compared pupils’ performance before and after COVID-19. This statistic illustrated the negative correlation, where students studying online received lower grades, than before lockdown. Offline learning increases the responsibility of the child and consequently increases the effectiveness of the studied material, while during online learning, the student and even the parent are more responsible for the result. Secondly, it seems to be that schools provide a community where children grow as a part of society. Students become more confident and socialized since they study working in teams, collaborating with classmates. This is a fact: home education does not fill this gap. Pupils who generally spend most of their studying hours within the four walls are likely to become sociophobes and suffer from internet addiction. To conclude, school can not be replaced by online studying, even though nowadays the distance education industry is increasing. Moreover, online learning can do more harm than good. Students must be surrounded by a social environment where they can study and develop productively.