Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the government should provide unpaid medical treatment including expensive cure methods. I firmly disagree with this idea, because this implementation will entail irreversible consequences. This essay discusses these points with arguments and examples. Firstly, the free medical services can claim extra money from the government. Often a government that has a centralized healthcare system has a preallocated budget and then creates an annual structured financial plan for the budget. In this case, other sectors would suffer since most of the money will be used in the healthcare system for funding the medical treatment of the citizens. In addition, the search for additional funding will require more time that would lead to bureaucracy issues. The example of wrong budget allocation is Cuba, where the healthcare system takes the majority of all government spendings, so that other industries such as infrastructures, transport, agriculture do not receive the necessary funding. Secondly, the quality of care may decrease since the government may not provide the same level of quality of medical services as in a private system. The ancient Greek physician Hippocrates said the possible words: " those who treat for free cease to appreciate the results of their labor." Such consequences might negatively impact patient health. This means that patients who urgently need medical assistance may suffer. For example, in the USSR in the 80-th century medicine in the West has made a breakthrough in computer diagnostics. However shortage due to free medicine in the Soviet Countries entails inability to obtain needed equipment for tomography. Therefore, even those who could afford quality treatment could not receive it. As outlined above, free healthcare will cause additional problems for patients and the healthcare system. Taking my above views into consideration, the idea of running free medical treatment cannot be supported.