Nowadays, it has become easier and more affordable for people to visit other countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

It cannot be denied that as international travel is becoming easier and more affordable, certain issues and inconvenience have been brought to both the travelers and locals. As a result, some impressionable people might form the bias that the development of international travel is more of a negative development. Nevertheless, as far as culture and globalization, international economy, and environmental protection are concerned, such a development is for sure a positive one. First and foremost, the increasing easiness and affordability of international travel promotes both the spread of domestic culture and learning of foreign culture, contributing to a deeper international mutual understanding. Due to difference in ideology and value, nations around the world usually hold stereotype opinions on others, causing difficulties in personal, business, and political communication and cooperation. Easier international travel not only enables travelers to show the world what their true life is, but showcase the world right in front of the travelers. Second, the fact that easier international travel promotes the growth of international economy indicates that it is definitely a positive development. Take Thailand, a country that benefits greatly from tourism, for example. Thanks to the easiness of international travel in modern days, the reasonable cost of living, fantastic sightseeing spots, and charming culture in Thailand can be enjoyed by people around the world. As a result, about 25% of Thailand’s economy is closely associated with tourism, which has provided tons of jobs for locals. Had it not been for the easiness and affordability in international travel, Thailand would not have been able to attract international travels or create jobs for citizens. A voice arises that international travel could bring devastating effects to the local environment due to pollution. Ironically, it is usually not the travelers who bring damage but lack of funding or poor management. Particularly in developing regions, without the income from travelers, the locals would have no choice but to exploit natural resources and damage the environment; on the other hand, effective tourism management can not only generate funding for the environmental protection but keep the sightseeing spots from being affected. Therefore, in terms of culture and globalization, international economy, and environmental protection, I strongly hold the opinion that easier international travel is a positive development