Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people all over the world nearly all possess a smartphone even some younger children, who spend a lot of time on their devices. Each individual holds their own perspective of this phenomenon, and I will present mine and explain it in succeeding paragraphs. First of all, it is true that a variety of digital products have emerged in our daily life and changed our living style to a large extent amidst the extremely fast development of technology and science.Owing to the unprecedented technological revolution, many new jobs have emerged and human society is operating faster, so the overall economic status of people has improved significantly. Thus, parents can afford phones for both themselves and their children. Furthermore, contemporary children are increasingly obtaining smartphones at an early age, they are exposed to highly stimulating content, such as video games or short videos. This behavior leads to less patience compared to previous generations, so they prioritize killing leisure or study time via watching highly stimulating scense rather than reading or playing with friends in reality. The progress of technology undoubtedly will bring about numerous innovations, such as airplanes, computers and smartphones etcetera. In my opinion, all products are effective on specific field, smartphone is also, and the way of the phone we used decides on the phone is positive or negative for humans. To exemplify, children's unsupervised use of smartphones can lead to potentially adverse effect on their academic performance and social development, because young children may lack sufficient self-regulation skills. But if parents offer correct guidance, it is definitely a good thing, such as teaching offspring how to learn a foreign language assisted by the phone. To conclude, exercising smartphones in moderation and in the right way is a positive thing no matter for adults or children.