Write about the following topic: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Excessive garbage is an outcome of the population growth we have experienced in the last two decades. As more people move to cities and consume more products the rubbish accumulated over the years has grown. This essay will outline reasons for such growth and actions the government can take to tackle it. An increase in the usage of use and throw materials for packaging is the primary reason for a high amount of garbage. While consumers buy the product, they often throw away the packaging immediately after consuming the product, resulting in a pile of garbage. For example, milk boxes are immediately binned after consuming them. On the other hand, advancement in packaging technology has made the usage of such materials more economical, hence eliminating the motive for companies to replace them. This results in excessive waste generated where more than 80% of the packaging ends up in waste dumps. One way the government can curb rubbish is to introduce stricter rules such as a complete ban or tax on plastic materials. Countries that have adopted this practice have reported a sharp decline in garbage and cleaner towns. Secondly, the government should educate the people on the impact of excessive rubbish and its effect on the health and well-being of the citizens. A good awareness program will create a broader consensus among the community to manage the consumption of such products. By combining both practices, lawmakers can create a greater impact on the excessive collection of waste. In summary, the amount of rubbish in our cities is expected to grow due to the high usage of single-use plastics. By introducing stricter laws on the usage of such materials and educating consumers, the government can curb this negative trend and create a prospering nation.