Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

There is an increasing number of individuals who compete on the same job applicants market as the young population. In my opinion, it often causes anxiety ad depression because of the fear to be outcompeted, and companies can solve this issue by offering courses and trainings though employment to increase people’s value over time. A high competition among different ages is a frequent cause to trigger a wide spectrum of the negative feelings by reminding to older people that they probably have not gained any marketable expertise. In a such dynamic life that we live though today, many jobs are regularly vanishing because of appearance of disruptive technologies. Skills that lead to six figure salaries today, can be completely outdated tomorrow. Therefore, it is not surprising to end up in a situation when a person should start his or her career from a blank page. For example, few decades ago the United States and other developed countries experienced deindustrialization when manufacturing moved to China. Unfortunately, not everyone was able to overcome frustration, and started looking for solution in drug addictions. To reduce the discussed problem companies should regularly offer trainings and courses in different topics. Some lessons can be directed to improve competences related to an employee’s role. In this way it will be less likely that they will stuck in junior positions. Other lessons can give a broad explanation of functions from other departments. In this way it will be easier to switch from a one area to another. For example, many technological companies prepare career development plans for employees, and conduct seminars about non technical roles to make communication between company’s members more undestendable. To conclude, many people end up in anxiety and depression because of the need to compete with younger people, and companies can solve that by providing more opportunities to grow competences in different areas.