From the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be engouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century has witnessed various phenomena such as the IT revolution and globalization, because of which masses have migrated among the nations. The borders have been elastic, and people prefer to visit different states across the borders to spend their holidays and meet their relatives. Some section of society is against this type of travel, as it can harm local people, whereas I completely agree that tourism is advantageous to locals. This essay will outline my thought process followed by a conclusion. Firstly, owing to this tourism, when travellers visit these places, they spend money to enjoy local hotspots, therefore, this becomes a source of income for the locals. The recent report from the Ministry of Tourism, for instance, indicated that 80% of the total income of the provinces in India is from tourism, as compared to industries. Furthermore, because of these rise in incomes, people can spend more money on their upcoming generations, to make them educated. Secondly, the local authorities keep the cities neat and clean to attract more tourists, thereby giving hygienic living conditions to the locals, consequently; old age people can live a healthy life. For example, the number of parks in the hotspot areas is more than in the non-hotspot areas to attract more tourists. Moreover, these visitors, bring new ideas and expose the latest technology to the locals, which bolsters the skill development of the locals. In conclusion, tourism brings both aspects to the table, however, the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages.