Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology in sectors like fashion and media, certain famous personalities have built up a name for themselves by showing off their wealth and luxurious lifestyles. It is being argued that this trend is influencing the youth in an unfavourable manner and I completely agree with it. The subsequent paragraphs will elaborate on the reasons why. Firstly, certain famous figures like models, actors, singers, and influencers, claim themselves to be the richest in the country or the most followed on social media. It is not for something they accomplished by their own work but with certain manipulations and influences in the industry. In fact, despite having a huge fanbase or living in the penthouse of an apartment complex, when it comes to their profession, they lack the necessary skills. For instance, one of the most listened-to male idols in South Korea, Jimin failed to impress the fans with his live vocals during his latest comeback. The majority of the youth that follows these people are high schoolers and it gives them the wrong idea that fame means everything until proven otherwise. On the other hand, witnessing how fame raises people to a glamorous, unattainable lifestyle, the youth believes that it is the key to their success, which in my opinion is very delusional. After being misled by their favourite celebrity, as soon as leaving school youngsters will choose to be a model or a ticktock influencer aiming for instant popularity, rather than focusing on a long-lasting career. Subsequently, it will take them time to realize the negative consequences of their decisions but by then it will be too late to turn back. In conclusion, it is undeniably true that the youth of a country is heavily affected by the behaviour of certain celebrities in both positive and negative ways, however it depends upon how the youth actually addresses the issue at hand.