Write about the following topic: Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Hobbies are a great way to spend free time in a relaxing and fruitful manner. Some argue that the time devoted to hobbies has been decreasing lately and it's causing harm to themself and the community at large. This essay will dive into the reasons for such a decline and its impact. People are working more hours compared to the last few decades, thus eroding the time available for leisure activities. With rising inflation, many with limited income have decided to undertake multiple jobs to meet the expenditure. A recent survey in Australia suggests that more than 45% of the population is performing a secondary job to tackle the rising cost of living, resulting in fewer hours left for leisure activities. Secondly, people are replacing their hobbies with entertainment to relieve stress. With easy access to media through Netflix and games through online gaming platforms, society has pivoted their leisure activity from hobbies to entertainment. However, eroding time spent on hobbies is resulting in both health issues and a lack of satisfaction. Excessive time spent sitting on a sofa to consume movies or playing games has resulted in a lack of exercise, whereas hobbies such as gardening or hiking would lead to much better health and a sense of fulfilment. Hobbies are a form of passion, thus following their results in greater satisfaction that can't be second to any. In conclusion, time devoted to hobbies is in decline due to people working more hours and preferring entertainment over leisure activities. However, this is causing health issues and lack of satisfaction. It would be wise to find a balance such that life is lived with purpose and harmony.