Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Often in schools English language is perceived as a main subject and it substitutes local languages. Although I agree that it is very important to learn English, I do not think abandoning of the native language is proper and we must strive to save it. This essay will discuss the issue of inequality in studying both languages and the consequences of this. On the one hand, learning English is undoubtedly needed hence we have it as a subject in school. It is that important because almost in the entire world English is spoken and there is an enormous range of information in this language. Furthermore, you have much more opportunities to find a well-paid job if you are able to speak and write in English. According to, resuerches researchers the English language will spread all over the world, so that it will be necessary to know it well. On the other hand, the chance of the disappearance of local languages is genuine. Some languages are spoken only in one country and if the county is with older population maybe after a couple of decades there will be not a trace of it. The most appropriate thing in this situation that we can do is to try to attract the young people to stay in their own country and to develop themselves there. To be this possible it’s necessary for each country to have high-quality universities and a sustainable economy. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that knowing languages is useful and each language is a treasure. However the local must not be replaced by English, but knowing both languages will provide you more opportunities.