Some people think that it's good for a country's culture to show imported foreign films and TV programs. Other people think that country should develop their own film and TV programs instead

Blockbusters, TV series and variety shows from various countries have gained popularity around the world thanks to the progress of internet connections and globalization. Some believe their prevalence is beneficial to domestic cultures as imported films and TV productions expand the locals' horizons, promote intercultural understanding and nurture this trade within the nation. However, the opposite claim the necessity of fostering this industry of its own for cultural, political and economic reasons. Apparently, the import of foreign works largely entertains their audience while the cultural background, history and other values in them are taken in naturally and willingly during the enjoyment. Thus, local viewers get to know more about the external environment and gradually digest the trivial differences between, which helps tourists, overseas students, business travellers and migrants between cultures communicate and merge more easily. In regard to less professional local film and TV makers, successful commercials and TV serials set excellent examples to learn from and if necessary, the technology and the expertise can be introduced to help the advancement of local industry of the same trade. However, it is essential to develop it for any nation. Concerning cultural factors, domestic films and TV programs are the representation and narration of its own civilization and this reveals and proves the distinct identity of people in this nation. This kind of narration maintains and even strengthens people's belief in this nation and thus, in political concerns, it defends the nation from turbulence and separation. Furthermore, big commercials have proved their business value since the box office hit, namely Titanic, so developing this business can also be a radical approach to boosting the local economy. In my opinion, imported and lock productions are not totally contradictory and should both be supported by audiences and governments as merits mentioned above