In some countries, shopping online is replacing shopping at store. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in several parts of the world, traditional shopping stores are losing their position for e-commerce. From my perspective, I firmly believe this is an inevitable trend and the following paragraphs will explain my reasons. On the one hand, there are several reasons why a significant number of customers still opt for shopping at stores. Initially, products and services enable them to have real experiences, because buyers can see and touch the products which they intend to purchase. Meanwhile, online shopping only can provide photos and feedback from previous customers, which sometimes can be untrustworthy. For example, a significant number of online customers received clothes of poor quality and the wrong size, which they would never spend money on when they had choices at stores. Furthermore, because of the convenience, customers tend to over-purchase and create waste. Not only the packages which hardly can be recycled, unused items can be thrown away and have detrimental effects on the environment. On the other hand, I have a strong belief that the benefits of online shopping overweight the drawbacks. Firstly, the internet encourages customers to buy a number of items from different stores without travelling to distant places. In addition, there are various convenient shipping services which allow them to purchase big and heavy products with promotions. That is the reason why fewer and fewer buyers go to stores and buy bulky goods. Secondly, since the retailers can save store rental costs when selling online, their prices can be much more competitive compared to that in traditional stores. Consequently, while customers getting used to new shopping methods, the land funds can be converted to other uses. For instance, instead of leasing buildings for garment stores, the authorities can build hospitals on the main streets to prioritize the emergency cases. In short, because of the firm experiences at stores and unexpected waste from shopping online, there are still reasons for customers who bias traditional shopping methods. However, thanks to the conveniences for the purchasers and benefits for the whole society, e-commerces are gaining their dominance. From my viewpoint, this is a positive change for not only customers and salesmen but also for the whole society.