Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that paying taxes help toward building a nation. However, some people believe that paying their taxes only is not good enough and we have more duties to our society. I agree with those who argue that we have more responsibilities as citizens. On the one hand, in today’s contemporary society a big chunk of someone’s earning goes toward taxes, leaving them behind with a small amount of money. Because of this citizens often have to tighten their pockets and they are most of the time busy with the procurement of day to day needs. Taking the former into account, it leaves the onus of building infrastructures, roads, and creating resources of societies with the government as they are the ones, who receive such a big amount of money collected through taxes. On the other hand, I believe in addition to paying taxes, we have more duties as responsible citizens. People should abide by laws and help those in need. For example, if no one is obeying the law, it will create havoc and disruption of society and the government will need to spend more amount of money on maintaining the public order, spending furthermore. Although, the government makes programs for all members of a community, sometimes these welfare schemes are not able to reach less fortunate members of society leaving them vulnerable. We can help such members by being altruistic to our fellow countrymen. In conclusion, although the money contributed through taxes is helpful for a country for a variety of reasons, But I believe citizens of any society have more duties such as abiding by the laws and help those in need, making their nation a place full of felicity