People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the factor of shopping habits. While I accept that shopping habits are connected to the age group they belong to, I believe that there are other essential reasons for consuming habits and I will explain my views in the following essay. On the one hand, the values of different ages lead to different shopping patterns. Firstly, the elderly are more used to consuming products in physical stores or shopping channels on television, while the younger generation tends to shop online. Secondly, the elderly are likely to have higher financial ability so that they are able to purchase more expensive items. For example, high-priced products and luxuries are basically designed for wealthy people, which may not be affordable to the young groups. Lastly, people of different generations come across particular consumer demands. The seniors may have a higher demand for medical and healthcare supplies, while the juniors prefer to buy fashionable gadgets. On the other hand, I believe that there are various causes of shopping habits. The shopping routines of people also depend on gender. For example, the audience of cosmetic products and fancy accessories is usually females. On the contrary, males are more likely to purchase outdoor gear and practical tools. Furthermore, there are a certain amount of consumers that buy certain brands. For instance, there are people who only purchase coffee from Starbucks since they associate it with greater social acceptance. In conclusion, both sides of the argument have merits, nevertheless, I believe that there are other possible reasons for certain shopping habits.