Many sports players advertise sport related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

We are presently living in a generation where advertisers and influencers are earning huge money with brand endorsements. In a similar fashion, athletes are endorsing various items related to their profession. This activity has a plethora of positive as well as negative impacts on society. I intend to elaborate on the same in this essay. Sports players are believed to be efficiently picky about the gear they use. Generally, they do research on these things before projecting, which is beneficial for society. Advertisements of gear essential for that particular game by a renowned athlete are prominent on roads and in shopping malls. These billboards and placards tend to catch an eye because the safety of their usage is also reassured by this group of intellectual men. Unfortunately, many products advertised by sports players may not be meeting the requirement of buyers. For instance, the consumption of protein drinks is in vogue now but the correct person to advise is a medical practitioner or dietician. Youth constituting a significant stratum in society have recently commenced including this in their diet without consulting an expert, which may be detrimental to their health. To conclude, I believe a consumer must buy anything only when they are absolutely certain that the particular item will not cause any harm to their body and serves the purpose, irrespective of the fact of whoever is promoting it. The judgement on purchases should not be conflicted with a mere television appearance of a favourite person.