The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these energy sources in remote and untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating oil and gas in these areas outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these places?

With the increase in the global population and the number of vehicles, the demand for power supplies is rising at rapid rates, leading to more areas being destroyed by excavation works. Although many people view this process as beneficial, I would argue that unearthing natural resources from unreached lands has detrimental consequences. Excavation of energy resources certainly helps countries catch up with their energy demands, which is a good substitute for purchasing from other countries. Oil and gas are one of the most expensive types of natural energy, which, when abundant, can become a driving force behind countries' economies. For example, the United Arab Emirates has already demonstrated how much wealth could be achieved by actively unearthing and selling petroleum. However, when the environment is concerned, these actions harm the surroundings. While fossil fuels are being dug out, a significant amount of pollution in the form of greenhouse gasses is released into the air. As a result, this gradually contributes to the increased levels of global warming. Furthermore, mining gas and oil considerably harm the area where work is carried out. For instance, the noise and pollution generated by excavation disturb wildlife and destroy plants. Thus, mining fossil fuels not only damages the global ecology but also affects the local ecosystem by destroying its flora and fauna. To conclude, digging out such as oil and gas has considerable benefits to an economy, but it also leads to the local and global environment suffering. Therefore, I think the advantages of excavating fossil fuels do not worth the detrimental consequences it results.