Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violence is an age-old problem in many parts of the world.Some people believe that Police officers carrying guns will signify a level of violence while others think it's the opposite.I believe that it's just used for defence and in case of emergencies. To begin with,not only do people who are in the defence system carry a rifle or gun but also many individuals purchase it for their own safety. Officers with equipment usually do not use them until they see any sign of danger or threat from any neighbouring countries or criminals. For instance,in,India police officers just use them to treat criminals or robbers.Sometimes these criminals use higher weapons as means of committing a crime.In such,case policemen use their guns as a mode of self-defence. On the other hand, policemen being armed may accidentally shoot a criminal while catching him and in doing so he may injure innocent citizens.Looking into this people fear for their safety and think they should not be armed and try keeping a gun for themselves to prevent such situations. Policemen create an environment of violence by sometimes opening fire in public places where the crowd is not under control in doing so many people die. For example,during election times when people take out, rallys large crowds are gathered in places and sometimes this leads to fighting between the opposition parties to stop such incidents policemen fire. To conclude,I believe Police officers should be armed to protect themselves and society in uncontrolled situations but it should not be misused.