Nowadays more and more teenagers take a gap year before entering university. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Before commencing college, many youngsters prefer to take a year's break. This essay will demonstrate that taking a break helps get an outer world experience and save money but it will also show that it could result in making pupils reluctant to go back to their studies. Whilst acknowledging the drawbacks, the essay will argue that the advantages of this fashion outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly to start with, when teenagers take a break before starting university, they get an opportunity to explore the world. This not only helps them get a new experience but also provides them with a plethora of options to save money for their tuition. For example, the University of Carleton's fee is around 9000$ per semester which costs a fortune to many individuals. Hence, if admission takes a term break, and gets industry experience it will not only be beneficial to them in their careers but also help them save some bucks. On the paradoxical side, if students start earning while studying, it shifts their focus from books to money, eventually resulting in more students dropping out of school in the urge of earning more cash. Moreover, a year gap in between studies could turn out to be unfavourable on resumes and they may lack behind other students. For instance, according to a study in Canada, individuals taking a year gap drop out of schools more as compared to others not taking one. To recapitulate, I would like to reiterate that despite having some shortcomings, it has enormous positives which are far more than its negatives.