It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, music, books and peers play an important role in an offspring's life. While one of the school thought opines that these factors play a huge role in shaping a minor's future, others argue that parents play a vital part in an offspring's development. This essay will discuss both views and argue in the favour of the latter. On the one hand, due to the advancement of technology, children spend a lot of time using various gadgets and even reading books which form their belief system. Due to this, they try to imitate their favourite personality or fictional characters. Moreover, when little ones spend time with their friends, they tend to imbibe the qualities and traits of others. Finally, media also plays an enormous role as kids pester their parents to buy their favourite toy or other things they see on television. On the other hand, the family also has a predominant influence on a kid's growth as they learn most of the things from their family. Parents have the ability to control what they read, watch or whom they spend time with. At a very young age, a juvenile's personality is malleable and thus can learn a lot of things from family members including good and bad. For example, a minor belonging to a dysfunctional family may show behavioural problems at school. In my opinion, parents have the upper hand when compared to music, books and friends in a youth's life and thus can set boundaries in their life. In conclusion, the outside world may influence the offspring in various ways. However, I believe that it is the guardians who set the stage for their younger ones by laying a strong foundation at a very young age.