creative artists should always be given the freedom express their own ideas (in word, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. there should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern era, it is commonly acknowledged that there should be complete discretion for writers, musicians, painters or filmmakers to demonstrate their personal ideas in their works without any state limitations. In this essay, I will partially agree with this statement. On the one hand, I believe that artists who utilise their own imagination to create a piece of art should be given free will to put their ideas into their work without any state intervention. The reason for this is that if they are allowed to do this, the genuineness and originality of their work will be reflected in their writings, music, paintings or movies. Their art will not be deemed as superficial or artificial, as they present their ideas straight from their hearts and minds. For instance, societal values and norms were freely and openly criticised by a satirist known as Saddat Hassan Manto in the mid-twentieth century in the sub-continent. His writings had a monumental impact on the masses at that time and still have an influence on the minds of people in the twenty-first century. Moreover, when artists are not bound by state censorship or rule, they create masterpieces of art containing bitter realities and harsh truths which are cherished by future generations. Hence, artists should be free to express themselves. On the other hand, I opine that there should be some prohibitions relating to the work of creative artists. Owing to the apprehension that the development of proclivities such as being violent and being rebels in the minds of the young population of society can lead to social turmoil and devastation, it is paramount for the state to make some rules and regulations regarding these pieces of art which provoke youth to delinquent and unsocial behaviour. For example, the state governments can censor those movies which develop hatred in people for other communities and anti-nationalistic sentiments in the hearts of native people. Furthermore, by prohibiting some immoral and obscene movies governments can ensure high levels of morality in society. It will also help them to maintain social order in the community. Therefore, creative persons should be restricted by the authorities. To conclude, it is a widespread belief that artists should be given complete freedom of expression by the people in power and authority without any interference. I partially agreed with this statement in this essay by opining that they should be given some freedom and not all because it can prove detrimental to society.