The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are various ways to deal with stress or depression, and listening to tune is one of the most effective cures for anxiety. I totally agree with the positive effect of sound on the mood because it not only helps to clear the mind but also could remind us of bright moments from the past. There is clear evidence that melody could distract and decrease day-to-day productivity. Although, it might be true, however, music could help to stop thinking and relax. Therefore, stressful ideas that bother are forgotten and replaced by new thoughts. For example, many universities around the world use calm and relaxing tones in libraries in order to motivate their students and help them deal with their studies along the way. Secondly, despite the fact that there is a lot of dark and depressing rock in the industry, it still could be associated with old bright memories. This is the natural mechanism of our brain to connect the dots and link the tune that we hear around us with the event that is happening. As a result, music associated with joyful events acts as a trigger for a good mood and might distract from a burden. For instance, one of the treatments in psychology is to play beats of different genres to help the patient to find different moments from the past that may give a clue on how to deal with the mental problem. In conclusion, the best way to deal with stress is to change a point of view in order to relax and then come back to the issue that bothers with fresh ideas. I agree that melody is the best distractor because it could remind of some positive memories from the past.