Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays getting a good job is quite a tough task due to the increasing competition across the globe. While many would say that a university degree is an optimal way to attain a reputed job; however, others argue that having relevant experience and soft skills can be more rewarding. In my opinion, both statements go hand in hand. There is no denial in the fact that education and degrees are the basics of qualifying for a profession. Professional fields such as medicine, technology and science demand a degree certificate. Since, not everyone can be eligible for working in these areas, and one has to be qualified enough. For instance, if anyone wants to be a doctor, he cannot just go and operate. He has to study for years to be eligible for it. Hence, education is a must for winning any profession. Additionally, experience and attitude also matter. Even if one has studied enough for attaining a post, he has to have a certain background and be confident in doing certain types of tasks. For example, during my interview, I came across a person who was a university topper but failed to get that job because of low self-esteem. Moreover, as and when an employee gains experience, he becomes eligible for higher positions having more salary and benefits. Therefore, developing skills for an assignment is equally important. To conclude, I stand firm in my opinion that one has to have a relevant degree and skillset to survive in the competitive world. To achieve this, universities can include personality development and internship programs in their curriculum that can help students prepare for their future. If an individual is well educated and is excellent with interpersonal skills, there is no way he can fail in his professional life.