Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that constant traffic jams in many urban areas around the globe are primarily caused by increased car ownership. I believe that this statement can not be true because the main reason for the heavy traffic is a high concentration of the economic activities area in one main city rather than increased car ownership. In my opinion, imposing charges on vehicles can be an effective solution for governments to reduce the number of car ownerships. It can not be true that increased car ownerships bring traffic congestion constantly in many metropolitan areas of the world. This is because there are some primary cities that have terrible traffic without the fact that the number of car owners has increased. For example, according to an economic researcher, 70% of megacities around the world have been exposed to heavy traffic congestion due to a high concentration of the economic markets in their cities over the 30-years period. Therefore, it can be said that car congestion is not primarily caused by increased car ownership. In the meantime, implementing a new tax burden on car owners by governments can make people discouraged to own private cars. This is attributed to a preference for saving money not allocating more money to tax. To illustrate this, in one of the Japanese cities where the politician has applied increased charges to private vehicles for one of the measures of environmental protection, the number of new car owners decreased by one-third of the total number of new owners three years ago. Thus, if not for such development of the local policy, the number of new ownerships of cars would have grown. In summary, car congestion has been worse because of a high concentration of the economic stage rather than the increased car ownership. Additionally, importing charges on individual vehicles as tax can be beneficial to reducing the number of car ownerships.