Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over global holidays is the backbone industry all around the world, which brings tension instead of helping tourists absorb knowledge from different cultures. From my perspective, I would consider myself as an advocate of this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, global holidays can broaden the horizon of tourists about distinct cultures. Visiting other cultures around the world can help tourists better understand the culture they come from and discover the native people in their place. For instance, Viet Nam is a nation with a multi-ethnic country, specifically 54 ethnic groups, so that visiting these people will help foreigners understand their character, customs or their culture. Hence, when tourists come over to other nations whose culture is as different as chalk and cheese, they can learn various things about the people there and gain more understanding about their cultures. While the redeeming feature of international tourism is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if the opposite of it is ignored, especially when global holidays can bring tension. In my viewpoint, international holidays can bring tension to the native people and act as a precursor for the local economy. For instance, If too many foreign come to the tourism area, although it may boost the service industry, some aspects may be affected such as heritage preservation or traditional occupations being lost and threatening the income of local citizens. Hence, holidays from foreigners can bring tension to native residents. To sum up, even though international travel can help them get to know people from other cultures, it can also bring stress to locals in some aspects.