In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Since ancient times, people have been moving from one house to another due to various reasons. Some move in as tenants while others as new owners. However, there has been a growing interest of finding out about the history of these houses by these new occupants. This essay will discuss their distinctive reasons as well as how they can get hold of that information. In most cases, occupants have their unique reasons driving them to dig out information on the previous residents. One of the factors could be, some found clues in the house that raise suspicion and curiosity. Hence, they have to research more about the past attached to it as well as those who once lived there. The other push could be that the dwelling might be haunted. This is common in some cultures, in African countries for instance, whereby only a traditional ceremony would be the only remedy for the house to be inhabitable. In order to satisfy their curiosity and or find answers, the present tenants have to do some intense investigation and get information on the previous occupants, whether they owned the house or rented in, the real owners of the house and what their occupations, beliefs and most importantly, why they left the house? The best people to ask would be the neighbours, family members or relatives if available. Social media could be handy if getting hold of them physically proves to be difficult. If they are out of reach, the elders in the villagers could be the right source of such information. In conclusion, if curiosity or circumstances drive new occupants of a house or building to research more about the house they live in, neighbours, senior citizens and family members as well as the internet can be good sources if information.