Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific inquiry and development will play a crucial role in any nation's growth indeed. So, the local government must be more responsible for funding and controlling exploration activities than private organizations. I do agree with this statement due to various reasons. To begin with, most developed countries are not only encouraging local intellectuals to initiate research and development activities, which will be backed by the government but also giving permission to private firms to conduct that analysis, which belongs to science and technology. For instance, The USA has the most number of institutes, which will conduct a vast number of projects which belongs to genetic engineering and space technology and will be supported by both government authorities and private organizations as well. In addition, due to this phenomenon, heavy investment will be placed in this field indeed. Consequently, more products will be delivered, so this will lead to development for the locals.