Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

The act of purchasing is now seen as a thing of pleasure and very rampant but, it has both its positive and negative effects based on the opinion of some people. Shopping has become very popular because everyone buys things for different reasons a lot of which are irrelevant thereby causing a lot of wastage by individuals and having a negative effect on society. First, everyone purchases an item for different reasons which makes shopping very rampant. This can be done on the basis of an impulse decision, where it was not planned. Also, some use shopping as a coping mechanism when going through hard times. For example, it is encouraged that people going through depression go out shopping so as to have a sense of ownership and feel seen. All these reasons result in a negative effect on society. Furthermore, the effect of this popular act on individuals is wastage. There are more wants than needs purchased. On the other hand, it is an advantage to the seller but the outcome for society at large is negative. People who shop in excess end up not making of use all they shopped for. For example, clothing, many of these clothes end up in the charity shop where they are sold at a lesser price, and some end up being of disposed. In conclusion, an increase in shopping as a result of being less busy has been that it is due to the various reasons for shopping and causes wastage at large which leads to a negative effect on society.