Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years, that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.how true do you think this statement is? what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars

The need for people to move from one place to the other for varying reasons, ranging from business to socializing has risen over the years. Car ownership is essential for migration, hence, the enormous increase in its ownership over the decades. It is undeniable that the automobile has aided greatly in solving logistics problems for many, however, it created another menace known as a traffic jam; which is a situation where there are many cars in a space, thereby, obstructing vehicular movement. Government can manage this challenge by applying some of the policies as will be discussed below. To control the issue of traffic jams, the authorities need to develop and maintain an effective and efficient public transport system. This can be in the form of the provision of comfortable and affordable commuter buses and rail systems. Residents opt to use their private vehicles in order to meet up schedules, so, if these alternatives, programmed to leave and arrive at various destinations at stipulated times at decent fares are available, people will be compelled to use them, reducing the volume of cars on the road, as it is able to move a large number of users at a time. These systems are yielding wonderful results in China and UK Secondly, making the cost of acquiring and retaining a car exorbitant can dissuade citizens from acquiring them. High taxation on manufacturers will automatically push up the prices of their products. The fees for vehicle licenses and other documents attached to its, the rate for use of public parking spaces may be reviewed upwards. This accompanying cost of retainers of a car when merged, can be quite expensive, making it less affordable for a significant percentage of the population. In summary, heavy traffic congestion in our cities can be managed if the government can adopt this simple recommendation