Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is often said that youngsters spend a lot of time on mobile phones on a daily basis. This essay will look at the primary causes of it and I believe this technological development does more harm than good. The first reason why offspring tend to make cell phones their priority is the lack of parental supervision. For example, office workers in Vietnam are reported to work approximately 10 hours a day including weekends. With that being said, time to control their children is somehow excluded from their schedules and the only way to entertain them is to allow them to use smartphones. Another reason that should be mentioned is the shortage of playgrounds for children. Take Ha Noi as an example, large areas of public parks are being cleared to make way for skyscrapers. For that reason, minors have to use products like iPhones to prevent boredom. In addition, I believe that using handsets has some adverse effects. Firstly, it will result in health deterioration for every child. It can be explained by the fact that staring at smartphones for a long time leads to eye diseases such as myopia or far-sightedness as these gadgets emit blue light containing colour spectrum. Secondly, children are more likely to communicate poorly. If they spend too much time playing with phones, they will have a tendency to lock themselves in their rooms to interact with virtual characters, causing them to believe that human interaction is not essential. In conclusion, deficiency in parental control is the main culprit of the excessive use of smartphones by children, followed by negative impacts on minors’ well-being and poor communication skill.