Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, the cars are no longer symbols of wealth or luxurious possessions. There is steady flow of car owners and, apparently this affects the cities and I completely agree with the statement that the roads are highly congested and in this essay I intend to suppose some measures that could be tacked to prevent traffic jams. First of all, it is irrefutable that urban areas suffer from increasing amount of traffic, due to plethora of cars on the road. In the last few decades more and more people can afford to own a car but this tendency has adverse effects on the individual's daily life. Unfortunately, every day the focal points of the majority of cities are congested even for hours, especially during the chaspick. Despite some obvious reasons described above, there are several actions that governments could take to solve the problem. Firstly, a simple solution would be that to build or just to extend the motor roads. Thus, the divers will be enabled to accelerate their speed and the traffic will disappear rapidly. Moreover, some improvement in the city's infrastructure also will be required in order to tackle the traffic. The second measure would be for governments to enforce stricter rules for drivers or even to charge them during specific timetables of the day and this will ensure that the chaspick will decrease significantly. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that with people's and government's efforts this problem can be solved in the long run. Additionally, individuals should be aware of the consequences of their excessive use of cars.