Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Generally, school programs include general disciplines such as physical culture, maths, and history. Some activists want to add unpaid community service to the school curriculum, while others are convinced that this is a waste of time. I deem that this is not it shouldn't be mandatory and take time in high school. I will reveal arguments with examples in this essay. To some extent, this activity only worsens the student's learning. For instance, in EU community service is taught as a separate subject and takes 30% of a student’s school time. Therefore in my opinion this is a huge percentage for graduates, who usually are preparing for exams in this period. This subject must not be compulsory, because instead of this option, students may take additional necessary classes. Moreover, unpaid mandatory work may decrease student motivation, lead to effectiveness, and have negative consequences. The researcher Mark Lopez analysed the consequences of the need for neighbourhood service and attitudes toward them. The results show that more than 60% of high school students are not satisfied with the idea of unpaid obligation, which entails reluctance to be a volunteer. Helping society should be an individual desire and cause a feeling of emotional benefit. Therefore, the best way to prolong the ideology of public works is to make it optional, not mandatory. To conclude, it can hardly be denied that community service should not be an inseparable part of the high school syllabus. Each student should make a decision and have a choice to reject or take this program.