When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is sometimes argued that the most pivotal factor that needs to be taken into consideration when designing buildings is the original purpose rather than the outer appearance. personally, I hold the belief that both the intended use and outward appearance play an equal role in the success of a construction. on the one hand, the core purpose of buildings needs to be taken into account significantly. these days, a myriad of designers concentrate on gorgeous appearance and neglect the essence of intended use. As a result, these buildings become useless in terms of serving practical purposes. for example, in the past, the Nguyen emperor constructed a turret with a view to fighting against other nations, but he spent a huge amount of money designing its outward appearance. consequently, when China conquered Vietnam, it was impossible for this country to defend itself due to the malfunctioning turret. on the other hand, I strongly believe that the outlook of construction is a crucial part that makes a contribution to its success, especially in the modern era. it is worth mentioning that the distinctive appearance of buildings can help people to understand their intended utilization, so many designers often have the tendency of putting more effort into the outward appearance in order to provide visitors with a wide range of information about the buildings. therefore, these constructions can attract more tourists' attention because of their magnificent look. in conclusion, I am of the opinion that both the outward look and the intended purpose are essential elements when designing. it is predicted that future construction will obtain both factors due to the development of technology.